How Do You Stay Fit ?

How Do You Stay Fit ?

Given the state of play and the fact that“physical recreation” is now being taken out of many school systems ? I’m wondering what your thoughts are on this sensitive matter ? Never mind the fact that the education system seems to be going to hell in a hand basket !

======================================================================

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Slideshow gallery
==================================================================

Today I spent with a neighbor as we headed to the local gun range to get off a few rounds just to get the endorphins going. But while I enjoyed myself at the range it certainly doesn’t beat the workout I’d normally get when I hit the my local gym and spar with several friends in the ring or octagon. As many of you know that while I love the sport of boxing . Of late I’ve gotten heavily into the genre of mixed martial arts. An avowed martial arts fanatic , with regard to karate and tae-kwondo. The more I get into working out via this format the more I enjoy the regimen of using this as a form of staying fit.

As such I wondering what if anything gives you “a high” when it now comes to staying fit ? Is it playing ball on the black top ? Or playing baseball or some other sport ? It doesn’t actually have to be a sport mind you, to keep one’s body , mind and soul as one. I know that we all have our affinities with regard to certain avenues in terms of a sport or a recreational activity. So by all means chime on in with your thoughts on the subject matter. I‘ll look forward to reading your comment s as and when you‘re ready.

Alan Parkins aka tophatal …………………

Diana Ross …….. ” Muscles” —— Song was written and produced by Michael Jackson

12 thoughts on “How Do You Stay Fit ?

  1. Most schools in Pa require Phys Ed…cannot graduate without it. Sometimes I object to the requirement cause it is sometimes demeaning to non-athletic students…some gym “teachers” need lessons in tact and/or compassion.

    1. al clements

      The moment that they started to take Phys ed and the arts out of the curriculum. And that’s as far as having something of a healthy respect of the education system here. Even when it now comes to post graduate studies the US can’t really hold its head up high and say that it still ranks amongst the best. It graduates far less doctors engineers and scientists than S Korea, China and India. That essentially was it for me ! And now with the asinine notion that some feel that teachers ought to be paid on the performance of the students illogical and stupid. You’ve got kids in middle , high school who simply don’t want to learn at all. Those in college think that they’re on a sweet ride if they’re on an athletic scholarship to begin with. One year minimum or three years max and then they’re out. And the college may well profit financially . But at the same time the system is being abused as there are needy students who could be making better use of that scholarship.

      In terms of me staying fit . I try and go to the gym every 4 to 6 days and put in some cardio and then martial arts training.

      Alan Parkins

  2. I do some light weight training 4 or 5 days a week. I also walk 2 to 3 miles a day to keep me in shape so I can keep up with the grandchildren and in my spare time I try and fit in as many 12 oz. curls as possible, only for medicinal purposes of course.

    1. aero

      That’s great ! But at the same time what I also try and do is as such watch the diet to make sure I’m not putting too much crap within the system.

      Alan Parkins

  3. I try to go out and surf when I can. It’s a great workout! I also play in some AAU leagues just for fun. I’ve also taken up Wiffle ball the last couple years, but think I might be ready to switch it over to softball! Pretty much, anything that keeps you active is a good thing!

    1. chappy 81

      The girlfriend is an avid volleyball player. But as neither of us live close to the beach , it’s not something that either of us get to do all that often. Though recently were both headed south down to Ft Lauderdale. Both of us on business and whilst there we took in the AVP Tour (Ft L’dale Nivea Open) event that took place there.

      I’m so heavily into MMA now that it’s great fun for me. Guys that I grapple with are very experienced as many of them are primarily wrestlers with muy-thai background. Mine however is karate and taekwondo, with some ju-jitsu and muy thai thrown in. .

      The scary thing is seeing the number of obese kids that there are about now. What I really want to know is why the school systems deem it appropriate to take phys ed out of the school curriculum. It’s bad enough that they’ve taken the arts out of it. What they now want to dumb down the kids even further ? And then they’ll choose to allay our fears and point the blame elsewhere as is their want.

      Alan Parkins

      1. It’s important to stay active, even when you don’t have a ton of time! I play some beach vollyball during the summer whenever a group of friends is down to play. It’s sad that kids are losing Physical Education. It helps keep the mind focused and fresh. I guess it’s on the parents to stay on top of that now!

  4. SportsChump workout, Jack Daniels excluded, includes 2-3 gym visits a week.

    The occasional basketball shoot-around. Yes, he’s still got range and can box out like a mother.

    Workouts include 5-10 minutes cardio to get the heart rate up, then a mix of upper body free weights and nautilus machine workouts. At least they called them nautilus machines back in the day.

    It’s pretty much how I maintain my buffness.

    1. Chris Humpherys

      Started getting back into the old routine of the ground and pound of MMA. I get up early on a Sunday morning and I jog around Lk Marie in Dundee. One circuit is a little over 1 3/4 miles. Once that’s over it’s a light work out using weights and then that is it. Saturdays and at one day in the week is devoted to the MMA workout. It’s great fun and it beats having to watch boxing.

      Alan Parkins

  5. chappy 81

    It’s not just sad that they’re now taking Phys ed out of the school curriculum . I view it as downright criminal neglect. Furthermore in doing so it places an even greater burden on a healthcare system that’s gone to hell. It cost the country in excess of $2 billion each year just to deal with the effects of childhood obesity. How the hell can that be a good thing ?

    We have a Congress that’s completely out of touch with reality. And an administration that’s merely throwing sh_t up against a wall to see what sticks.

    How’d you like to grab hold of Brenique’s cheeks ?

    The other issue I now have is that there’s little being done within the DHHS or Education to warn the dangers of pediatric or childhood obesity. It’s as if these two agencies aren’t in the slightest bit concerned. Which is so atypical of politicians in general .

    Alan Parkins

Leave a Reply

